Yahoo! will be closing its GeoCities service later this year. When you go to the web hosting service’s website, you’ll be informed that they’ll no longer accept new accounts. Its existing users may still use the service until later this year and will be provided with details on how to save their data. Here’s the link to their help center.

GeoCities was founded by David Bohnett and John Rezner in late 1994. It was first called the Beverly Hills Internet (BHI). Originally, users will be selecting from list of  cities, which are named from real cities or regions, to place their web pages according to the content. So “Silicon Valley” contained pages related to computers while entertainment sites were placed in “Hollywood”. Follow this Wikipedia article for more about GeoCities.

I’ve used the service before as a web host when I was starting to learn web design. But now, I use it for file hosting. A lot of my downloadable documents and linked images are hosted by GeoCities. And that’s why I downloaded all my files and transferred them them to a new file hosting service. If you’re a GeoCities user, you just might have to start migrating your files. And for me, I’ll be updating my posts and point the links to my new file host.

Anyway, thank you GeoCities!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

